“A very warm invitation to you,” Courtesy of a Mass-Spam Run
September 17, 2010McAfee Labs has been monitoring a spam run that was launched earlier today. The message follows:
| Subject: A very warm invitation to you
Body: Hello, Hope your week has been wonderfull well. I would like to extend a very warm invitation to you to the Verbum Dei Missionary Festival this Sunday, September 19. With a lot of support and collaboration from groups of people we work with in the Bay Area, an international spread of food I really look forward to your coming to be able to catch up more. More details are in the attached invitation, I hope the directions woul be helpful in navigating the way to the St. Thomas More parish. With joy and peace to you, Attachment: #####vacation.html |
The attachments are all the same and contain an encoded JavaScript, which redirects to a web page on the numerouno-india.com domain.
The destination page does a redirect (to a page on the scaner-g.cz.cc domain) and also contains an iframe (with a target of a page on the arestyute.com domain).
The redirect domain displays the standard fake anti-virus scanning animated image and subsequent prompt to download an executable:

fake scanning image

download prompt

icon used by executable
The iframe leads to a cocktail of exploits, including a Java Development Toolkit exploit (CVE-2010-0886), as well as exploits targeting Adobe Flash and PDF vulnerabilities, including CVE-2007-5659, CVE-2008-2992, CVE-2010-0188.
The payload of these exploits is a password-stealing Trojan, which copies itself using a randomly named folder and file in the %AppData% directory and creates a registry run key to load the file at start-up, for example:
- HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
“{608F1285-57B7-C631-DE51-8A99508CC7A9}” = “C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Application Data\Ezudi\oqek.exe”
This password stealer injects into the iexplorer.exe process and targets dozens of mainstream financial institutions. It also contacts the domains ohmaebahsh.ru and eexiziedai.ru.
- This fake AV executable was detected by Global Threat Intelligence File Reputation at the time of this blogging when running at Very Low sensitivity or higher.
- The first-stage domain (numerouno-india.com) is rated RED by TrustedSource and SiteAdvisor
- The second-stage domains (arestyute.com, and scaner-g.cz.cc) are rated RED by TrustedSource and SiteAdvisor
- The third-stage domains (ohmaebahsh.ru and eexiziedai.ru) have been rated RED by TrustedSouce and SiteAdvisor for weeks
- DAT file coverage is being added under the following names:
- PWS-Zbot
- FakeAlert-PE
- JS/Downloader.gen
- JS/FakeAlert-AB.dldr
Customers may download updated signatures using the extra.dat request page: https://www.webimmune.net/extra/getextra.aspx. These are also available in the beta DATs.
Posted by Craig Schmugar


















